board of supervisors

Board Committees

2020 Standing Committees of the Seneca County Board of Supervisors

Standing Committee meetings are scheduled for the fourth Tuesday of every month beginning at 5:30 p.m.

COMMITTEE NO. 1 – FINANCE, ASSESSMENT & INSURANCE – Chair Michael Reynolds, Vice-Chair Don Trout, Cindy Garlick Lorenzetti, Michael Ferrara, James Cleere. Responsible for County budget, returned school taxes, sales tax, debt service, and County Treasurer, Finance Department, County Insurance Programs, Risk Management, Workers’ Compensation and Fixed Assets Program, Assessment rolls, Real Property Tax Office, tax maps, reappraisals tax sale property, tax petitions, and all real property tax matters.

COMMITTEE NO. 2 – PERSONNEL – Chair Michael Ferrara, Vice-Chair Ralph Lott, C. Ernest Brownell, Ronald McGreevy, David Hayes. Responsible for Personnel Department, civil service, employee contracts, employee salaries and benefits, employee relations, County Policy development and maintenance, ethics and affirmative action program, vacancy committee reports and recommendations.

COMMITTEE NO. 3 – GOVERNMENT OPERATIONS – Chair Cindy Garlick Lorenzetti, Vice-Chair Kyle Barnhart, C. Ernest Brownell, Ralph Lott, Michael Ferrara. Responsible for County Clerk, Board of Elections, Courts, Central Services, Records Management, County rules and order of business, legislative proposals and reviews, County Historian, County Manager, Clerk of the Board, Supervisors’ expenses, Purchasing, County Law Department, and Weights and Measures.

COMMITTEE NO. 4 – PUBLIC WORKS – Chair Don Trout, Vice-Chair Cindy Garlick Lorenzetti, Paul Kronenwetter, Joseph Borst, David Hayes. Responsible for Public Works Division and its departments:   Code Enforcement, Facilities, Highway, and operations thereunder to include County roads, rights of way, snow removal, highway materials and equipment, repairs, maintenance, construction and siting of all County buildings, utilities, matters related to  Seneca County Sewer District #3,  and Solid Waste management, recycling and composting.

COMMITTEE NO. 5 – PLANNING, DEVELOPMENT, AGRICULTURE & TOURISM  – Chair Kyle Barnhart, Vice-Chair C. Ernest Brownell, Paul Kronenwetter, Ralph Lott, David Hayes. Responsible for Planning & Community Development, Planning Board, Industrial Development Agency, Tourism, Federal and State grants, Soil & Water Conservation District, Extension Service, Agriculture Districts, and Finger Lakes Regional Airport

COMMITTEE NO. 6 – MENTAL HEALTH SERVICES – Chair Michael Enslow, Vice-Chair Ronald McGreevy, Michael Reynolds, Joseph Borst, James Cleere. Responsible for the Mental Health Department, Mental Health Programs, Community Services Board, Alcoholism and Substance Abuse programs, Youth at Risk Programs

COMMITTEE NO. 7 – PUBLIC HEALTH SERVICES – Chair Ronald McGreevy, Vice-Chair Michael Reynolds, Joseph Borst, Michael Enslow, James Cleere. Responsible for the Public Health Department, home health agency, sanitation, Handicapped Children Pre-K (3-5), Early Intervention, animal disease control and Code Enforcement.

COMMITTEE NO. 8 – HUMAN SERVICES – Chair Joseph Borst, Vice-Chair Ronald McGreevy, Michael Reynolds, Michael Enslow, James Cleere. Responsible for the Division of Human Services, Social Services Department, Office for the Aging, Veterans Services, Weatherization Program, and Community Colleges.

COMMITTEE NO. 9 – PUBLIC SAFETY – Chair C. Ernest Brownell, Vice-Chair Michael Reynolds, Ronald McGreevy, Don Trout, Paul Kronenwetter. Responsible for Sheriff’s Department and Jail, District Attorney, Public Defender, Coroners, Justices and Constables, Fire Mutual Aid, Office of Emergency Management, Probation Department, STOP-DWI Program, and E-911.

COMMITTEE NO. 10 – INDIAN AFFAIRS – Chair Ralph Lott, Vice-Chair Paul Kronenwetter, Cindy Garlick Lorenzetti, Michael Ferrara. Responsible for all issues relative to the Indian Affairs.

COMMITTEE NO. 11 – ENVIRONMENTAL AFFAIRS – Chair Paul Kronenwetter, Vice-Chair Cindy Garlick Lorenzetti, Joseph Borst, Michael Ferrara, Kyle Barnhart. Responsible for keeping the Board abreast of the various activities in the County, alternative energy issues,  and their potential environmental impacts.

COMMITTEE NO. 12 – TECHNOLOGY – Chair James Cleere, Vice-Chair David Hayes, Don Trout, Michael Enslow, Kyle Barnhart. Responsible for computers and computer related equipment, AS400, electronic communications including telephones and cellular phones and the Information Technology Department.

COMMITTEE NO. 13 – WATER AND SEWER TREATMENT MANAGEMENT AND OPERATIONS – Chair David Hayes, Vice-Chair Joseph Borst, Cindy Garlick Lorenzetti, Kyle Barnhart. Responsible for all matters related to Seneca County Sewer Districts 1 & 2, and Seneca County Water District 1.