Lead Poison Information
PROGRAM AREAS

<<< Back to Environmental Health Services Homepage

Campgrounds


Children's Camps


Clean Indoor Act


ATUPA (Adolescent Tobacco Underage Prevention Act


Food Service Establishments


Mobile Home Parks


Public Water Supplies


Rabies/Animal Bites


Residential Lead Paint Assessments


Realty Subdivision Review


Individual Septic System Plan
Reviews and Technical Assistance


Public Swimming
Pools and Bathing Beaches


Tanning Facilities


Tattoo and Body Art


Temporary Residences Hotel, Motel)

Environmental
Health Services
Seneca County Health Building
31 Thurber Drive
Waterloo, NY 13165
Phone: (315) 539-1945
Fax: (315) 539-4745

Hours of Operation:
8:30 am - 5:00 pm

Director:
Vickie Swinehart
315-539-1925
vswinehart@co.seneca.ny.us

Principal Sanitarian:
Thomas E. Scoles
315-539-1947
tscoles@co.seneca.ny.us

Public Health Sanitarian:
Julie Hoster
315-539-1764
jhoster@co.seneca.ny.us

Public Health Sanitarian:
A. J. Sinicropi
315-539-1951
asinicropi@co.seneca.ny.us

Public Health Sanitarian:
Melissa Brand
315-539-1948
mbrand@co.seneca.ny.us

Contact:

Staff Resource Assistant
Jennifer Bates
315-539-1945
jbates@co.seneca.ny.us

Environmental Health Services - Residential Lead Paint Assessments

 

Lead poisons many people. It is especially bad for children. If lead gets into a child's body, it could cause brain damage, kidney damage, hearing loss, growth problems, anemia or behavior problems.

Lead can be found anywhere. It is commonly found in paint, dust, soil, and water. Lead has been found in some traditional (folk) medicines used by East Indian, Indian, Middle Eastern, West Asian, and Hispanic cultures. Traditional medicines can contain herbs, minerals, metals, or animal products. Lead and other heavy metals are put into certain folk medicines on purpose because these metals are thought to be useful in treating some ailments. Sometimes lead accidentally gets into the folk medicine during grinding, coloring, or other methods of preparation.

 

The most up-to-date New York State Environmental Health regulations can be found at the following site.